The Inbreath Of The Morning

April 12, 2013

There is part of us that
says it is never too late to be reborn
on the inbreath each morning.

Stephen Levine

sunrise breath

(photograph by Kathryn Howlett)

Mornings have become an addiction for me. They are quiet, soft and peaceful. They are beautiful and filled with wonder and hope. There is a stillness in the air that does not exist at any other time of the day. The birds wake with the light, slowly and gently they greet the day with their song. I marvel at the colors in the morning sky…..where do those colors come from? How can they be real colors?

I recently began a breathing practice called “So Hum”. So Hum translates as “I am this/that”.  http://www.chopra.com/sohum

I usually wake up before or around sunrise. I have begun to train myself to be still and to watch the sun rise. To breath in “So”, and to exhale “Hum”. To “be reborn on the inbreath each morning.”

I wish I could say I am able to carry that stillness and awareness throughout the day. But, I am not always able to do so. I try. I try every day without giving up because I believe that one day I will come to the end of a day and say “I did it!”

I like to think I make a difference in the world, even if it is to only one person. Yet, I remind myself that my “work” is not so important that things would “stop”, or someone would “suffer something” without me. When I remember, I silently say “So Hum”. I am this. “This” is simply what is. It’s not about importance or unimportance. It’s not about being of value or not. It is simply about being and doing. Of focusing on the qualities of compassion and patience and of being “this”.

When I soak in the first rays of the morning sun, feel the warmth wake my body and take those inbreath, I am “this”. It fills me with something unspeakable, extraordinary. It is a recharging of something deeply internal and personal. It is a rebirth every day.

I am so grateful for the east facing window in my bedroom. For the sky that lights up each morning, filled with color and beauty. A sky that cradles the sun and beckons me to take a long slow inbreath and to be “this”.

One Response to “The Inbreath Of The Morning”

  1. emilylabram Says:

    This is a wonderful, inspiring post. I find it immensely hard to wake up early but feel encouraged to try it. You’re right, it can be a real opportunity to start the day with presence, which is so worthwhile.


Leave a Reply

