Struggles of our time……is there room for hope?

September 16, 2012

I have had a hard time putting together a post for this week. I know I don’t have too, but it is a goal I try to reach.

I feel so dragged down by the politics of our country, by the violence and hate in our world.

What are we doing??

Why do we allow media to tell us what and how to think? Why do we keep re-electing these broken politicians? Why do we grow intolerance and hate in this day and age?

How can we all, take one step to change something? Do we care enough to try? I try on facebook. I post things I hope will make people (even me)think differently, even if it is for a moment. I don’t have a twitter account, but I think about getting one so I can tweet news organizations and ask them why they find it so difficult to report news and not regurgitated sensationalism and personal ideology, that more often than not creates fear.

I read comments on “news” articles and am dumbfounded by the remarks: name calling, vulgarity, inappropriate jokes, bullying.

Why?

Am I part of an aging, fading population that believes we have a responsibility to be respectful of others, even those with differing values, opinions and beliefs?

Is there anyone out there who wants to discuss this? What can we do? What can you do? How do we hold on to hope?

 

Leave a Reply

